It’s Like Brocolli

“I wish I were stronger and more secure in myself so that I could really spend my life with a guy like Lenny. Because he has a different kind of strength than Joshie. He has the strength of his sweet tuna arms. He has the strength of putting his nose in my hair and calling it home… Who will ever open up to me like that again? No one. Because it’s too dangerous. Lenny is a dangerous man. Joshie is more powerful, but Lenny is much more dangerous.”

My friend Chiara has a way of putting life situations into words. When it came to my love life this year, she did it again, while stating, “Just because broccoli is good for you, doesn’t mean you have to date broccoli. Go be with asparagus, or a turnip, or anything else. Don’t let broccoli keep you cornered.”

Reading this section of the story humanized Eunice’s character for me, especially with that quote. Love is confusing and fickle at this age. Everyone is figuring out who they are, and some of us have the pleasure of doing this with another human along for our ride, while on one of their own. The part that I personally relate the most with is the line that says, “Who will ever open up to me like that again? No one. Because it’s too dangerous.” I find a lot of people I’ve met to be very resistant to our current dating world, because of how dangerous it feels to put yourself out there. It doesn’t make it better, it just is what it is. What I have personally experienced is that I’d rather put myself out there and be in danger of being hurt, than feel regretful that I didn’t take the chance. From where Eunice is coming from, it makes sense, but I think it also brings out the actual maturity level of her character that we had not seen present in the earlier part of the book.

Leave a Reply

